Skip to content
April 21, 2012 / austreberto

Day twenty-one

a history

 

i wrote my first poem over ten years ago

as a suggestion from a friend

 

had a crush

mostly because she apparently

for some reason

liked me first

 

still don’t know what i did to deserve that

 

it was forbidden though

my ex’s best friend

the unwritten rule of high school

thou shall not date thy friend’s ex

(no matter how cute you think they are)

 

the bible should probably get to work on that one

bff 3:15

with fifty hail marys

whatever those are

maybe reserve a new level of hell for such sinners

 

my confession today would probably last a week

forgive me father

for i have sinned

this is my first confession

ever

i hope you have some free time

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Dark Landscapes / Apr 21 2012 6:44 pm

    I like the free flow thought process in your poem. I also like the mea culpa in the poem, which always fits with confession. I think this would make a good start in a series, since it leaves us wanting to hear the whole confession! 🙂

  2. austreberto / Apr 21 2012 7:07 pm

    Much appreciated. I already planned for tomorrow’s poem to be a small addition to this piece, but that is an excellent suggestion! I’ll see what I can do in the next few days.

Trackbacks

  1. her confession (or lack thereof) « unspoken thoughts

Leave a Reply

