Skip to content
May 13, 2012 / austreberto

rock me to sleep

rock me to sleep

 

it was my first musical purchase of my own choosing

 

having grown up the youngest of three

plus my parents’ tastes

i had a lot of influences of what to listen to

(birthdays and christmases full of new music)

 

i held the two cd cases carefully

opened the cellophane wrapped bodies

much like what i imagined undressing woman to be like

nerve-wracking

impatient

but damn

it would be sweet

 

they had that new music smell

probably different from my parents’ experience

with vinyl

back in the day

 

my mother grabbed one of the booklets from my hands

started reading the lyrics

to see what kind of words her baby was being exposed to

 

was lucky enough that she read the one song that had

feel god’s breath

as the chorus

 

surprised both of us

to be honest

because the band was far from christian music as one could be

 

that night

i snuggled into bed with my cd player

slightly uncomfortable

as pillows were not designed in mind with wearing headphones

 

i replayed the first song five times before moving onto the next track

and i knew

from that point on

that this was going to be awesome

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. I Made You A Mixtape / May 13 2012 4:10 pm

    Love your poem and it so describes a lot of my childhood. My first album (and it was vinyl back in the day) was Abba. I remember not only listening to it for hours on end but staring at the album cover for hours on end… I still remeber every single detail…lol.

Leave a Reply

