Skip to content
June 3, 2012 / austreberto

why in the world did i say no

why in the world did i say no

 

high school

freshman year

 

awkward was in season

for me at least

and i wore it well

 

my first dance

 

the lights were out

i lost my brother

(think he ditched me to get high)

people i didn’t know were bumping into me

figured this to be dancing

to be consistently rude to the people around you

 

i tried this

but kept apologizing

 

bump

excuse me

bump

my bad

bump

sorry

bump

do i know you?

(do you want to? wink

no? ok)

 

nobody liked my moves

i didn’t like my moves

 

bump

i’m sorr… oh hi

 

she was cute

too cute

bumped into me

 

must have been in my brother’s grade

at least

 

asked me if i wanted to dance

 

she

asked me

to dance

 

but i said no

 

she asked why

and i began to panic

had to let her down easy

 

i don’t know

and i walked away

(smooth)

 

i’m not sure

she could have been the one

but i’ll never know

Leave a Reply

