Skip to content
July 15, 2012 / austreberto

heart counts

heart counts

 

every night

she would lay her head on my chest

and counted my heartbeats

to make sure i was still alive

(told me i breathed so slowly

she wasn’t sure if i was or not)

 

it relaxed her

 

she managed somehow to keep track in her sleep

would wake up every morning with a different number

(don’t know how she did this

she would never tell me)

 

some mornings

the number would be higher

heart races

because of bad dreams

 

this would keep her awake

wanted to hold on

tightly

to comfort me

and show that i was safe

 

those nights

i dreamed of being in a vice grip of her arms

 

her grip

was strong

as if she was afraid she would have lost me

if it wasn’t enough

 

but she was strong

even when she sighed

it woke me up

in her arms

wanting more

and more

and more

Leave a Reply

