Skip to content
February 9, 2013 / austreberto

autobiography

autobiography

by- me

as read by- morgan freeman

 

birth to six have always been a bit hazy

my memory was selective and played favorites

 

in 1993 we moved states and i became friends with all the kids in the neighborhood

all four of them

 

the next seven years were also hazy

and even more selective

with the exception of my best friend shooting himself in the hand with a bb gun

and saying my first swear in the third grade

(unrelated events)

 

in the eighth grade i questioned my sexuality

 

that following summer i got my first girlfriend

 

a few days later

i said i love you for the first time

not really knowing the repercussions of those words

 

weeks later

we broke up

 

(by the way

my first swear was fuck)

 

at fifteen

i grew my hair out

never knew it was going to be so curly

a lion’s mane

 

got my second girlfriend after i cut my hair

which resulted in my first kiss

 

my lips were unsure of what they needed to do

 

it was awkward

and they became self conscious

 

ended up dating my ex’s best friend

which

apparently

is frowned upon

 

my lips figured out how to move

 

junior year

others began to question my sexuality too

 

a week before my eighteenth birthday i lost my virginity

 

four years later she and i stopped talking

(would never find out why)

 

twenty

i had my first mid college life crisis

 

switched majors

 

twenty one

had a shakespeare class with a girl whom i would date five years later

 

stood in line behind her at a coffee shop

never said a word

 

twenty three

learned what depression was

 

i fought back

hard

 

twenty three and a half

became closer to my father

and became immensely proud of myself for the first time

 

twenty three and three quarters

my girlfriend was still in love with someone else

after our one year anniversary

 

i remained proud of myself

 

graduated college

accepted to grad school

fell in love with girl from the shakespeare class

 

the present

 

anything after this

is just gravy

 

good thing i brought my gravy boat

 

let’s go sailing

Leave a Reply

