Skip to content
April 16, 2013 / austreberto

all i ever wanted (day sixteen)

This is in response to a poem I wrote for a friend earlier in the 30/30 challenge.  The title is almost identical, so you can figure out on your own which one I’m referring to.

I wrote it for her and what she wanted in her life, so I decided to write one for myself and what I want in my life.

The good thing is, I already have it. 🙂

 

all i ever wanted

 

i grew up watching my parents love each other

unconditionally

 

it was perfect

or as close to perfect as someone could get

in this lifetime

 

and i believed that there was someone out there for me

who would love me like that

 

at least

i hoped there was

 

i wanted to be accepted

fully

 

every bit of me

 

from my slumped spine on bad days

to my wrinkled pinky toes on the good

 

my good graces

and my stubbornness

 

good golly

i’m a mess some days

 

but someone can still love me

every bit

 

i can shine

even when i don’t know it

 

someone will show me how beautiful i can be

how beautiful i’ve always been

Leave a Reply

