Skip to content
April 25, 2013 / austreberto

less of a poem and more of a collection of thoughts for later (day twenty-five)

Tonight I am performing poetry at a “coffee house” event.  I don’t get to perform that often so I cherish it when it happens.  I plan to read all new poetry from this month of April and National Poetry Month, and I have been gathering my thoughts about what I really want to say to people.  I want to create connections with them.  To relate.  To enjoy. And anything else that naturally happens.

So here are my thoughts:

 

 

what i do is nothing special

 

these words have all been done before

at one point or another

 

they are nothing special

 

but it’s what’s worked for me

for over eleven years now

 

i hope to create moments of understanding with you tonight

because chances are

you’ve been here before

or are here right now

 

either case

i’m going to tell you what’s worked for me

 

close your eyes

 

take in a deep breath

through your nose

 

let it go

 

do it again

 

no matter how stressful life gets

so long as you are alive

you will always have the ability to breathe

 

simultaneously

your heart is continuously beating

bringing that breath to the rest of your body

 

we do these things without knowing it

 

we do these things in our sleep

every night

 

it’s more than second nature

because it is nature

 

so it’s no wonder that our minds are capable of so much

 

to take the tiniest of inclination

and just going with it

even if it’s all in our mind

 

y’all

this is how my mind works

all the time

 

but i’ve spent enough time worrying about something that’s not even there to begin with

 

walk with me

 

Leave a Reply

