Skip to content
April 27, 2013 / austreberto

performing (day twenty-seven)

Over the last few weeks with presentations from school and performing poetry, I noticed a pattern.

I’m always freaking out, but on the inside.

But when push comes to shove, I deliver.

The same can be said about my student teaching.  I was nervous as hell, but my students never noticed.

Freshman year of high school, I gave a book report (on A Wrinkle in Time, I think) and remember shaking like CRAZY.  If only my younger self could see me now…

 

performing

 

they asked me if i ever got nervous

 

i told them

yes

i always do

 

always have

since day one

with my pacing

babbling before

exploding heart

and i think imma hurl right now

 

it’s never gone away

 

it used to hurt because i was trying to contain all that energy

 

it’s why i shook when i spoke

years ago

 

i’m better now

(practice practice practice)

but still nervous

(even with more practice)

 

always will be

but i’ll never let that be a reason to ever hold me back

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lifeonmygayisland / Apr 29 2013 11:54 am

    This is a good lesson: we need to remember not to let fear hold us back! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

