Skip to content
August 1, 2013 / austreberto

continuous self improvement

continuous self improvement

to alecia, emily, & kelsey

 

you know

i don’t always mean to be so hard on myself all the time

 

it’s just

i want to be better than what i used to be

(better than other people is a fruitless war

 

one person vs the world is unfair and guarantees failure)

 

i can only try so much

 

a better version of my former self

from years ago

months

weeks

days

hours

minutes

(you get the picture)

 

all the much older with every passing moment

and

hopefully

equally as wiser

even with my rising expectations

 

i know that i succeed

even when i don’t know it

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. lifeonmygayisland / Aug 1 2013 8:39 pm

    When you said “better than other people is a fruitless war one person vs the world is unfair and guarantees failure,” I was struck because that is something that I’m always thinking about. I am always wanting to be better than everybody else because…just because.

    I have often thought that I needed to be better than everyone because I want to help prove that gay people were “better” than the rest; that gay people were “better” than what most straight people used to think about us. A lot is changing, but that is something that has stuck with me since I was a kid in middle school being called gay, among other things. Kids can be so mean.

    But it’s true, we should not try to base who we are on other people. It really is a guarantee for failure. It’s something that needs to be pointed out more often. It is something that we need to remember.

    Very nice poem, thanks!

    GI.

  2. austreberto / Aug 2 2013 11:26 pm

    I appreciate your insight about this. It certainly can be a major struggle that many people have; a constant sense of competition when they really should just be concerned about their happiness and well being. Live your life and others will live theirs. If worrying about something won’t change it, then you probably should stop worrying about it.
    That’s just how I approach life. Or at least I try.
    Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

