Skip to content
August 14, 2013 / austreberto

BELATED TWO YEAR ANNIVERSARY/200th post bonanza

Gosh, I have a lot to type in this entry.

I lost track of time and didn’t realize that I had been doing this blog for about two years now.  I’m nearly a month late on that one… oops… Though to be fair, the anniversary this year was on the day that I had a major switch in my life.  I was preoccupied.

I was even thinking this morning: Haven’t I been doing this for awhile?  Holy jeez!  I have been!

Two years into this journey, this exchange of creativity with friends and strangers.  I have grown as a writer and like where I am with my talent as a writer.

With approximately 150 followers and over 8,000 views on this blog, I’d like to think that I have done a pretty good job.   Not too bad for me, not bad at all.

With that said, this is also double special post because it is my 200th post.  I know that a number of these haven’t been poetry, but that’s not the point.  It’s a journey, with whatever I write.

And as a bonus… and a way to embarrass myself in front of ya’ll, I will now post my FIRST poem that I wrote back in high school.

I was 15 years old and had a crush on a girl.  As a suggestion from a friend, I wrote a poem to use to ask her out.

And here it is…

Two Roses

Two roses are here in front of me, for what I don’t know.  One red, the other white.  I sit here thinking to myself what they must mean to me, what they mean about someone I care for.  The red one is special, its color is red, the color of love, the love that will grow between us.  The white one is more special, it represents the beauty of the beholder, the beauty of you and what is all around you.

Leave a Reply

