Skip to content
August 31, 2013 / austreberto

this is a confession

this is a confession

 

to friends and strangers alike

or to anyone who’s willing to listen

(at this rate

i’ll be left with strangers)

 

i’ve never been honest with you

 

ever

 

hell

not even with myself most days

and it tears me apart

 

this is me

this is me trying to stop myself from starting all over again

from the ash of all the bridges i’ve burnt and rebuilt in my years

 

it’s why my fingernails are so dirty all the time

 

i’ve smudged freshly painted walls of every church i’ve stepped into

soot-prints

reminding people

even the purest of intentions from the best of hearted individuals can have dirty hands

no matter how badly they want to wash it away 

Leave a Reply

