Skip to content
September 10, 2013 / austreberto

somewhere in between the lines

somewhere in between the lines

 

i’ve never considered myself a patriotic person

 

nor unpatriotic

even with my i hate the government phase in high school

 

stopped saying the pledge of allegiance

hated president bush

and other things i blindly followed because i didn’t know any better at the time

 

wannabe punk

with my baggy band shirts

teenage angst

and no one understands me mentality

 

until

one day

years later as an adult

i heard taps played during a high school assembly

 

i

as a teacher now

amongst my students

wept

 

my grandfather

long before he began his family with my grandmother

lived through the thick of world war II

 

VE day

 

carried shrapnel in his back because of it until the day he passed

 

i wept as if i was alone

 

today

i always stand

remove my hat

and salute

out of respect

and out of love

for a sacrifice that i could never have the courage to make

Leave a Reply

