Skip to content
April 2, 2014 / austreberto

things i constantly check for (day two)

things i constantly check for

 

locked doors

and the keys that accompany them

 

my pockets for said keys

wallet

and the heads up penny i found the other day

(i’m feeling lucky today)

 

things on or around my face

cow licks

and unzipped flies

(the last time i used the bathroom was hours ago)

 

the closest mirror

(vanity never looked so good on me)

 

bed head in the mornings

and sometimes afternoons

(i slept like a baby last night)

 

my pulse when i’m living

and listening to music

(it likes to skip a beat sometimes)

 

the breath within my lungs so i’m not drowning

(though you took it away the second i saw you ages ago)

 

and double checking that this isn’t a dream

because i’m beginning to get the feeling that things are too good to be true again

 

if i don’t wake myself

pinch me

 

but in five minutes

 

remember the look on my face right before you do it

and tell me how happy i looked

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. ladysighs / Apr 2 2014 4:46 pm

    That is a great check list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

